Posted by: greatfoundation | November 22, 2009

Teaching the underprivileged: An eye opener

I had taken a class in the GREAT Foundation adopted school after a long time…as the schools were closed during the Swine Flu incident and then a prolonged closure due to the exams…It had been long since I saw the faces of these children…But after the holidays I went and took a math session each at Mahadji and Ghorpadi High school…I was amazed to notice that the children at Mahadji Shinde school were perkier and more enthusiastic than ever before. They began…”mam aap aate kyun nahi”…. “hume English bhi sikhayein na”….. “Bahut acha lagte the aapke sessions”…I was flattered by their comments…However, being a volunteer coordinator I have to circulate myself at various schools and check if the classes are going on fine….

However, as I began with a new chapter called “Direct and Indirect proportions”- (already completed by their school teachers) at the class I took at Ghorpade School. I realized that the state of these children is so bad that when I gave them a problem to solve that was “x is directly proportional to y”. They gave me an equation “y”=”k” X “x”. The ironic part was that the basic equation they formed was itself wrong so one could see that the answer would be but obviously wrong. They didn’t mind interchanging values of “x” with “y” and so on…

Despite being half year through in the tenth standard out of the 40 children who were present in the class only a handful…i.e…around 5 could actually solve the problem correctly….This was the pitiable site that I witnessed…. It made me realize that these children need me and other dedicated volunteers who can dedicate their time and skill to really help hone these children’s basics and teach them how to solve problems so that they can at least pass their exams…The media in which I taught was not important but the concepts were…and it is a pitiable situation that these children are not even able to form a simple equation let alone understand the whole problem and solve it…..

I had taken a class in the GREAT Foundation adopted school after a long time…as the schools were closed during the Swine Flu incident and then a prolonged closure due to been long since I saw the faces of these children…But after the holidays I went and l…I was amazed to notice that the children at Mahadji Shinde school were perkier and more enthusiastic than ever before. They began…”mam aap aate kyun nahi”…. “hume English bhi sikhayein na”….. “Bahut acha lagte the aapke sessions”…

I was flattered by their comments…However, being a volunteer coordinator I have to circulate myself at various schools and check if the classes are going on fine…. However, as I began with a new chapter called “Direct and Indirect proportions”- (already completed by their school teachers) at the class I took at Ghorpade School. I realized that the state of these children is so bad that when I gave them a problem to solve that was “x is directly proportional to y”. They gave me an equation “y”=”k” X “x”. The ironic part was that the basic equation they formed was itself wrong so one could see that the answer would be but obviously wrong. They didn’t mind interchanging values of “x” with “y” and so on…

Despite being half year through in the tenth standard out of the 40 children who were present in the class only a handful…i.e…around 5 could actually solve the problem correctly….This was the pitiable site that I witnessed…. It made me realize that these children need me and other dedicated volunteers who can dedicate their time and skill to really help hone these children’s basics and teach them how to solve problems so that they can at least pass their exams…The media in which I taught was not important but the concepts were…and it is a pitiable situation that these children are not even able to form a simple equation let alone understand the whole problem and solve it…..

Leave a Reply

Categories

